Right to edit or view a document
The next level of security limits a user's right to edit a document.
Every user in the default Security Group (see first section of this chapter) has editor access to documents in a given database (by default). This is to enable members of that group not only to create their own documents (Author access) but also to amend and deal with documents created by other users. This is essential to workflow and the normal functioning of any office that generates and publishes documents.
When a document has been published (emailed or posted to the addressee) its status is changed to "Finalised". Five days later only administrators can edit the the document.
If a matter has been closed (the status of the Matter has been set to anything other than "Current") then only a lawyer can open the document.